warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/csgs/public_html/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
Information regarding the CSGS executive and elections when the time comes to select new ones.

8th Annual CSGS Golf Tournament!

Hi Everyone!

The time has come for the 8th annual CSGS golf tournament.

8th Annual CSGS Golf Tournament8th Annual CSGS Golf Tournament

The tournament gives grad students a chance to get outside (remember your sunscreen), meet each other and enjoy a new (or maybe familiar) experience. Skill is not a problem since we play on teams, in a Texas Scramble format, with new and experienced players working together and this is a easy way to get introduced to the game of golf.

The tournament is open to all members of CSGS, all CPSC faculty members, post-docs and staff and their guests.

This year, the tournament is scheduled for Thursday, July 4, 2013 at the McCall Lake 9-hole Par 3 Golf Course. Our first tee time is at 10:50 and we will need to arrive at the golf course around 10:00am.

CSGS End of Semester Party

CSGS End of Semester Party

CSGS Winter Party

CSGS is holding a Winter Party on Wednesday February 2nd, starting at 4:30pm in ICT 516.

Pizza, snacks, and drinks will be served. Halal and vegetarian options will be available.

All faculty, staff, and graduate students are invited.

CSGS Executives for 2010/2011

It took a while but we now have a full slate of executives for the 2010/2011 academic year:

  • President - Dina Said
  • VP Academic - Soha Makady
  • VP Communications - David Aikema (Grid Research Centre)
  • VP External - Fatemeh Arbab (iCIS)
  • VP Finance - Shreya Rawal
  • VP Internal - Leanne Wu
  • VP Social - James King

At the June 11, 2010 CSGRC meeting, the positions of Chief Returning Officer (CRO) and Speaker of the CSGRC were also filled:

  • Maryam Elahi, Chief Returning Officer
  • Mohammad Jafari, CSGRC Speaker

Upcoming CSGRC meeting on June 11, 2010

The next CSGRC (Computer Science Graduate Representative Committee) meeting will be held on June 11 from 11:30am - 1:00pm in ICT 516.  While only members of the CSGRC are permitted to vote in these meetings they are open to all students in the department.
During this meeting a new Speaker and Chief Returning Officer are to be elected as per the earlier email to the grads list.  You should have received an email on the grads list with more details of this process.
Attached to this post you should find the agenda for the meeting and various other related documents.  (If you're reading this through the RSS feed, you may need to click through to

New Executives Elected

A new crew has been elected to serve as CSGS executives starting May 2010. The elections for four executive positions have been finalized (VP-Internal, VP-Academic, VP-External, VP-Finance), whereas three positions (President, VP-Social, and VP-Communications) are still vacant. Stay tuned for the updated executives list after the By Elections in May.